Seven-day Nishagandhi Dance Fest to begin on Jan. 20

ON  18 Jan, 2020

DrC.V. Chandrasekhar to be conferred with Nishagandhi Puraskaram

The seven-dayNishagandhi Dance Festival will begin on January 20 at the sprawlingKanakakunnu Palace grounds here, enlivening the evenings of the city with therhythmic chime of anklets of leading exponents as well as upcoming artistes ofdiverse Indian choreographic traditions.

Hon. Chief MinisterShri Pinarayi Vijayan will inaugurate the annual event at NishagandhiAuditorium, at 6 pm, and present the prestigious Nishagandhi Puraskaram to eminentBharatanatyam exponent and choreographer Dr C.V. Chandrasekhar.

The coveted honour,bestowed on top-notch choreographers in recognition of their outstanding contributions,carries a purse of Rs 1.5 lakh, a bronze statuette of Bharathamuni and citation,Hon. Minister for Co-operation, Tourism and Devaswoms Shri Kadakampally Surendrantold a press conference here today.

NishagandhiDance Festival is an attractive and valued product showcased every year byKerala Tourism. The event also promises days of happiness to visitors as wellas the residents of the state capital, Shri Surendran said.

Dr Chandrasekhar has beenselected for the Nishagandhi Puraskaram in view of his invaluable contributionsas a dancer, scholar and teacher, the Minister added.

The awardee and the dancersof the fest were selected by an eminent jury consisting of Shri C.P. Nair, formerChief Secretary of Kerala, and writer; Dr V.R. Prabodhachandran Nair, Linguist;Smt Methil Devika, Dancer and choreographer; Smt Rani George, Secretary,Tourism; and Shri P Bala Kiran, Director, Tourism.

Octogenarian DrChandrasekhar has a PG Diploma in Bharatanatyam, besides undergoing training atKalakshethra, Chennai, under the tutelage of legendary Bharatanatyam exponents likeRukminidevi Arundale, Karaikal Saradambal,and K.N. Dhandaipani Pillai. He is also a mentee of Carnatic musicians BudalurKrishnamurthy Sastri and MD Ramanathan.

Dr Chandrasekhar hasperformed on stages along with his danseuse wife Smt Jaya Chandrasekhar and daughtersChithra and Manjari. He embraced dance as his profession and later joinedBanaras Hindu University.

In 1992, he retiredas the Head of Performing Arts and Dean from MS University, Baroda. At present,Dr Chandrasekhar is running a dance institution, ‘Nrithyasree’, in Chennai. A PadmaBhushan awardee, he was conferred with Sangeet Natak Academi Award in 1993, andKalidas Samman in 2008.

Dr Chandrasekhar isnot just a brilliant performer and choreographer but also a highly revered guruwho has moulded many doyens in the domain of dance, said Smt Devika. On theselection of performers for the festival, she said the list includes highlydedicated upcoming artistes as well.

Besides the membersof the jury, Tourism Secretary Smt Rani George, Director Shri P Bala Kiran andAdditional Director Shri Krishna Teja were also present at the press meet.

This edition of the festivalwill feature performances of P. Praveen Kumar, Arun Sankar, Mansia. P.V, Arjun.S. Kulathingal, N. Srikanth, Aswathy Srikanth, Devika Sajeevan and Jyothsna Jaganathan(Bharatanatyam); Kalamandalam Veena Warrier, Dr RLV Ramakrishnan& group,Madhavi Chandran, and Dr Sumitha Nair. N (Mohiniyattam); Kavitha Dwibedi&group (Odissi); Bimbavathi Devi (Manipuri); Navin. R. Hegde, and RohiniPrabhath (Kathak); and Geetha Padmakumar&group, Dr Ananda Shankar Jayantand Reshma. U. Raj (Kuchipudi).

On the inaugural day, Nrithya Dhara, a fusion of Odissi, Chhau, Mohiniyattam, Kathak and Manipuri,will be staged. Padma Shri Ranjana Guhar and Utsav Repertory, Guru SanthoshNair, Sandhya, Guru Jayaprabha Menon, Guru Vidya Lal and Guru Mangoljao Singh.

As the nation is commemoratingthe 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, a specially choreographedproduction on the life and message of the Father of the Nation will be stagedon January 26.

Eminent artistes,including Shri Kalamandalam Gopi will perform in the Kathakali Mela to be heldin parallel to the dance festival on all the seven days.

Shri Kadakampally Surendran will preside over theinaugural ceremony, which will be attended by Dr Shashi Tharoor, MP, Shri V KPrashanth, MLA, Shri K Sreekumar, Mayor, Shri V K Madhu, District PanchayatPresident, Shri Palayam Rajan, Councillor, and Shri M Vijayakumar, Chairman,KTDC. Smt Rani George, Secretary,Tourism, will welcome the gathering and Shri P Bala Kiran, Tourism Director,will propose a vote of thanks

Top Comments

Leave your comment